Day 6 – Journal to Victory

Day 6 of the 30-day Blogging Challenge: #ichoosehopeKE #landofhope
My husband is very good with numbers. He is a natural! I admire that and marvel at how he is able to work out large arithmetics off-head. It’s brilliant. For me words do the trick. I wonder what works for you. Today, I would like to encourage you to develop the habit of journaling. Putting it in paper. This will give you victory over worry and precious memories of answered prayers and fulfilled hopes and dreams. I have been encouraging you to dream again and rise from disappointment of the past to being truly fruitful. Let that seed that God has planted in you be noted somewhere. When the testimony comes you will rejoice at the ‘smallness’ of your worry and the miracles God works, doing more than you could ask, think or imagine. When disillusionment comes and the enemy wants to keep you down you will have the written words in your journal as fuel for your testimony to defeat him.

Write thoughts and inspirations down
I personally like looking back at my old journals and I get surprised and sometimes even shocked that I thought about certain things or worried at all. Even if a thought seems to be stray and random, the best thing is don’t ignore, write it down. That way you can make the thought into a prayer request. Thanksgiving, put it into the action plan but by no means ignore it. In my English 111 Reading class, the Don taught that when reading and a stray thought comes, jot it down and continue reading. Write and move it out of the worry list.
Remember how the men and women of old in the Bible state that …. the word of the Lord came…

It is written – journal to victory
“It is written, “’Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.” NIV
Realize the power of the written word. Today I decided to go to my journals in 2007 and 2014. Oh the surprises. I have been writing in tiny notebooks since I was a little girl and have some of them to date. Truly the faintest pencil is stronger than the strongest memory. Regardless of the season you are in, God is working at this moment in your life to give you victory in Christ. Fear not! Journal your way to victory, confessing who you are and your desires and prayers.

Allow me to share snippets of my past journals:

2007:
journal to victory
Jesus overcame the devil in the tempting in the wilderness by uttering God’s word – words of truth and saying it is written!

2014:
journal to victory
Some things that were a concern to me at a given point were resolved without struggle I believe by God’s sovereign intervention, others took time (and lots of patience) plus my action, others never worked at all. What I have been learning out of my journaling journey is to trust my journey, my process, relax and trust God who has engraved my name on the palm of His hands… He is on the throne.
journal to victory

I challenge you if you have not began journaling to begin today. If you have not been consistent, don’t worry, there is grace to pick you up. Review your old journey and will find strength to move ahead.
Choose to write today your thoughts and inspirations, your prayers and stick to the truth of God’s word. Start journaling your way to victory

I dedicate to you the song Mercy said no  by Cece Winans. You are an overcomer!

Cheers,
Dorcas Koome-Muthama

