Day 2 – Rising from disappointment

Glad to share Day 2 of the 30-day Blogging Challenge: #ichoosehopeKE #landofhope

Confidence is boldness in your ability to succeed. Taking your fears head on. Taking the risks.
On the other hand, disappointment is the feeling of sadness or displeasure caused by the non-fulfillment of one’s hopes or expectations.
Today I would like to share what I have been learning; that rising from disappointment is:

God giving beauty for ashes; a promise
Psalm 18:29        Suddenly, God, you floodlight my life; I’m blazing with glory, God’s glory! I smash the bands of marauders, I vault the highest fences.MSG
One thing God has taught me of late is to speak to myself. Words. Real conversation. Heaven and earth were formed at God’s word spoken by him. With God’s help, new land will be conquered. We will have strength to take hold of the opportunities He brings to us. Today is the gift we have. Yes we know did not always make the best of the opportunities that came our way. For whatever reason. But we cannot go back to yesterday.  We only have today. And the promise is sure, His love remains.

Courage to be the real you
Hebrews 10:35-36 So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you! NLT
This means being authentic. Living up to the calling of God upon your life. Not pitying yourself. It may take time, shaking will come but because God’s gift and calling are irrevocable, this courage will rise each day and confidence will remain unshaken. Honestly this is where I am currently and I am shaking the dust of my failures and awakening the little girl who dreamt big. Who did not hold back but was courageous. Have I changed over the years? YES. Has God changed? NO. He is with me. He is for me. He is not against me. Thus I am renewed and I regain my confidence and will not throw away MY confidence.

Pitching your tent in the land of hope
When you have done all you can humanly, what will make the difference between confidence and disappointment is keeping hope alive. Showing up again after you have fallen. Without hope, the heart breaks. The will to continue dies. Dreams may wither or even die. Remaining  hopeful will help you to rise to the occasion when it presents itself because it will.

This song Start a Fire by Unspoken has been on my back to back playlist for a while now:   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzIvLULIFF0

Keep the fire burning!

Cheers,
Dorcas Koome-Muthama

Leave a Reply

