30-day blogging challenge: #ichoosehopeKE #landofhope

Decide that you will be better not bitter

At the beginning of the week, I met a beautiful lady called Charity Muturi. She really encouraged me concerning my career. (As a background, I am actively job searching). I learnt how to properly quantify my achievements over the course of my career. Indeed she affirmed me. That is something rare! Within those few minutes something very significant happened to me.  The little girl who dreamt big was awakened again. (I wanted to become a Lawyer when I grew up). Actually there is a new study called SHE IS STILL THERE by Proverbs31 Ministries coming  up on September 5th, 2017 based on the Book: She is Still There: Rescuing the Girl in You by Chrystal Evans Hurst

This meeting with her stirred me to hope and action. There are things I have been yearning for but been afraid to start.  She mentioned that we have very many qualified people in Kenya. How come then many are still discouraged, undersell themselves or fail to excel where God has placed them? Part of that story is mine.

This is what has motivated me to start a column/initiative with the hashtag #ichoosehopeKE #landofhope

  • I believe hope has to start with the original me, the person who has realized their identity.
  • I have decided to write it from the Christian perspective because I am unashamedly Christian.
  • I believe there is no separation of faith and life, I live well because I have been transformed by the power of the resurrected Christ.
  • I believe in the gospel that speaks to both the mind and the heart.
  • I know writing this means being vulnerable, am I ready? Not easy but yes I am ready and willing.

The time is always right to do what is right.

(Maybe I should delineate this to be a statement of faith but for now let me start where I am.
My action
As a start, I am taking a 30-day blogging challenge to write at least a 100-word article daily and post at least 3 times a week.  I invite you to tug along.

My challenge to you:
Whatever the set-up, who can you encourage today, at home, at work or just randomly?Has anyone ever encouraged you, if yes then you have a duty to encourage someone else.

Cheers,
Dorcas Koome-Muthama

Leave a Reply

