Crave the pure, sincere milk of the word to grow spiritually

like newborn babies crave pure milk of the word of God

I have been learning a lot lately from my experience as a new mum. Today, I find that as I go to place my little girl in her bassinet to nap, she is holding tight to my jeans hook at the waist. Of course I do not want to wake her up so I have to gently nudge her fingers to let go of me. That is how much she loves her milk, nursing time is serious business! I laugh as quietly as I can. Then boom, a verse hits my mind.
I Peter 2: 1-3   NLT
1So get rid of all evil behavior. Be done with all deceit, hypocrisy, jealousy, and all unkind speech. 2Like newborn babies, you must crave pure spiritual milk so that you will grow into a full experience of salvation. Cry out for this nourishment, 3now that you have had a taste of the Lord’s kindness

Peter was urging the Ephesian brethren to get rid of all the sins listed above. How? By craving pure spiritual milk. What is this pure, sincere milk? The word of God! How much do we yearn for God so much as to hold on to him for assurance? This presents itself to me as a paradox, God is always holding me. He has indeed written my name on the palm of his hand so there is no way he will forget me. Indeed he is already holding us.  I think what it means is that to just calm our nerves we will hold onto him like my lil one taught me today! Are we craving the word of God in the journey of spiritual maturity to truly overcome (get rid) of deceit, hypocrisy, jealousy, and all unkind speech?

Remember as a baby grows due to the nourishing milk from her mother with all the antibodies and nutrients so shall we grow spiritually; our faith and life will be better as we daily crave and drink in the word of God. AMEN

I am off now as she has woken up and may be in for another nursing session…

Cheers,

Dorcas Koome-Muthama

Leave a Reply

