Tell your heart to beat again – speaking to yourself version

Something clicked in me that made me think deeply. In the journey of our walk with God, fatigue and delayed longing face us from time to time. “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.” Proverbs 13:12, NLT

We are active in the church; give faithfully and participate as best as we know how. Then we wait. And wait some more. We feel mad at God because we are expecting a quick reward. Why do I give and you do not see? Well, first giving is a principle. Give and it will be given back to you, remember that verse? In full measure, pressed together, running over. Secondly God loves a cheerful giver and we are to give not out of compulsion but with joy. Thirdly God is not a mocker, what we reap, we sow. Thus I encourage you to know these truths by heart.

Tell your heart to beat again

Tell your heart to beat again

However, in our human shortcomings and the sinful world we live in, we SEE others around us doing well and yes even doing better. We are tempted to complain as we compare ourselves with those we feel we should be in the same league or even that we should be ahead of. We feel like telling those closest to us how tired we are of waiting. After all, isn’t it just a click away or simply a smiley face? We itch to tell them how we are bored and feel neglected. Its fine to share our griefs that we may find comfort, and find joy in the friendship but does this promote their faith in God? Does it speak life, as life and death is in the power of the tongue? After you complain, so what? Will I have made anything better? Again if I shut up and die inside I will just become bitter and weary of the walk. I will shed what I have already gained by faith this far? So I must speak. Speak to myself, speak to my soul and not be silent or I will sink to the grave of despair.

Even as my fingers are itching to type away my disillusionment to my friend, thanks to the whatsapp that’s so quick to share the feeling, the Lord whispers these words to me.

Those the Lord chooses will inherit the earth.

Again, thanks to Mr. Google, I search up the verse and I get two of them.

Psalm 25:12-15

12 Who, then, are those who fear the Lord? He will instruct them in the ways they should choose.[b]
13 They will spend their days in prosperity, and their descendants will inherit the land.
14 The Lord confides in those who fear him; he makes his covenant known to them.
15 My eyes are ever on the Lord, for only he will release my feet from the snare.

Psalm 65:1-2, 4-5

1 Praise awaits[b] you, our God, in Zion; to you our vows will be fulfilled.
2 You who answer prayer, to you all people will come.

4 Blessed are those you choose and bring near to live in your courts!
We are filled with the good things of your house, of your holy temple.

5 You answer us with awesome and righteous deeds, God our Savior,
the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas,

His is a blessing we cannot force. He chooses whom to show mercy and grace on. Am not saying be lazy and boom around and work on the premise that somehow God will choose you. What I am saying is a situation where you feel sidelined by the king. Where you feel forgotten. As you are being faithful in the kingdom, your time which is His best timing will come. And His enduring promise will be fulfilled. Remember His love remains, His promise sure.

The journey of our lives is different, each must walk with His God, in a relationship and in different seasons. It is important to encourage each other, but when all is said and done, we were called alone and must answer alone.

I dedicate to you the explanation Danny Gokey gives behind his song : TELL YOUR HEART TO BEAT AGAIN

Leave a Reply

