Always Learning

Diary

 

This morning I was preparing myself to go to work. I was ironing my clothes, listening to some music while humming along. I noticed my younger cousin was up but not doing anything specific just gazing as I multi-tasked along. Usually she is an early riser and gets herself ready in very little time. However, today she didn’t seem in a hurry!  She was going to pay her fees at the bank; which opens around 8am. School would come after that…

Cousins

I could ashes well be in class here.. Oh and for once mama doesn’t have to pay fees for that!

That is not what majorly concerned me; it was her almost fixated stare at what I was doing. So I asked her: ” Why are you so idle today?” I was also asking how often she reads her bible and suggested she use that time before going to bank to pray and study a few verses. Her answer which I thought was brilliant was that “I am in class“.  That is when I realized she had been watching as I removed each crease and straightened each fold. After a short while,  she finished the class and went on to do ‘other things’ like listening to my talking!

We don’t ask them to learn but they learn. If I wake up and read my bible and pray, that’s stronger than asking her to read her’s while I usually don’t.

We set the example ; less by talking but more by emulation of our actions. Neither do they say ” I want to learn, please put on your best behavior” they emulate both the good & bad. Our actions speak louder than our words..

Pointing to the sky above

I can do this

Whomever youth you influence, it’s not a matter of Do as I say but do as I do!

Pointing to the sky above too

I can do this too!!!-

And they do too! As you do plus more – coz they’re younger and energetic,I guess.

Pointing to the sky above again

I can even do it more!!!

They are always learning…

 

PS: Photos at ‘Daraja ya Mungu’ – Mururi; Embu County

 

Leave a Reply

